Message From The Chair

New LASPE season, new program chair, Joint Luncheon Meeting with CCCOGP September 19, interesting upcoming, speakers/topics, ATCE in Dallas on September 24

Dear Friends and Members of SPE,

Welcome to the 2018-2019 Los Angeles Basin SPE season. We have a great lineup of speakers at the monthly luncheon. Our golf tournament is again planned for the Spring. There will be multiple opportunities to help assist engineering and science students from college to high school to middle school. With oil prices at a good level, prospects look positive for the months ahead.

LASPE Board Member Jay Huff of California Resources Corp. will be the Program Chair for this year. Our first meeting will be a special luncheon on Wednesday September 19. We will be having a joint event with the Conservation Committee of California Oil and Gas Producers. The luncheon will be at The Grand (4101 East Willow Street, Long Beach). Tom Walker will be the special speaker. He will be discussing the future outlook of our industry. RSVP required 714-929-0364 or

Upcoming luncheon speakers for 2018-2019 include:

October 9: Jeff Voorhis of HY-BON Engineering (Reduce Venting and Flaring with Economic Benefits) November 13 – Dr. Don Paul of USC – Executive Director of the Energy Institute
December 11: Distinguish Lecturer (DL) Charles Pope (Coiled Tubing Intervention in Horizontal Wells)
January 8: DL Gary Teletzke (CO2 in the Subsurface)
March 12: DL Med Kamal (Pressure and Rate Transient Analysis)
May 14: DL Roy Ledgerwood (Solving the Mystery of Low Rate Penetration in Deep Wells)

As a final reminder, the SPE International Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition will be from September 24 to 26 in Dallas, Texas. With the industry moving forward, this should be a great event. It is not too late to make plans to attend. Students from both our USC and Cal State Long Beach sections will be attending, along with a number of LASPE members.

Robert Schaaf
SPE LA Basin Section Chair 2016-2017