Calgary Section Awards

*** For Award descriptions please scroll below***

Nominations CLOSE May 5, 2019

Individual SPE Member Awards

Outstanding Contribution to YPs in Calgary Recognition of an SPE Calgary YP (< 35 years of age and < 10 years of experience) who has made an Outstanding Contribution to the YP Team in Calgary, usually over several years, including during the current Board year (June - May).
Invaluable Volunteers on behalf of the Calgary Section A Section Member and Volunteer, whose contributions have gone well beyond the norm in terms of creativity & effort. (Likely a potential future board member or committee/SIG Chair or a volunteer who is stepping down from such a role and who has been proactive in enhancing our programs or events.)
Technical Excellence and Achievements A Calgary Section member who has provided significant technical contributions in the last 18 months; or a consistent, multi-year history of technical excellence in the petroleum engineering community worldwide and has been registered with the Calgary SPE Section for most of the current year.
Outstanding Leadership and Service with the SPE Calgary Section An award normally made to an outgoing chair or a former chair of the Calgary Section who has made an outstanding contribution; a long-standing technical program lead; or someone stepping down from other similar demanding leadership roles.
Outstanding Mentor, Role Model or Emerging Leader An SPE Calgary Member who has gone out of their way to help other O & G Professionals, Young Professionals or Students in the Energy or related programs advance their career; or in Advancing Gender Equality and Cultural Diversity in our profession in Calgary. (Emerging Leader used for YP Nominees)
Long Service Award (with the SPE Worldwide) A seasoned Professional (>36 yrs old and with >10 years in the industry), currently registered with the Calgary Section, who has contributed to the success of this Section and/or other SPE Sections around the world with many years of service as a valuable volunteer, author, presenter and/or fund-raiser.
Outstanding Contribution to a Student Chapter in Calgary Recognition of an SPE Student Member in Calgary (in U of C PES; or SAIT Chapter, etc) who has made an Outstanding Contribution to that Chapter the current school year (Sept. - May).

Awards to Corporations; Not-for-Profit Groups: etc

Corporate - Innovative Project; Technical Excellence and HSE Technical or Project Execution Excellence, generally as reported at a Section or YP Technical Meeting or an SPE Conference in Calgary, but including Innovative Projects or HSE Initiatives in Western Canada that are well known to the general SPE Membership in Calgary. Recognizes the development or application of new technology or execution excellence. Includes recognition of a Management Team for allowing a presenter to share findings or ongoing activities and to elaborate on best practices or key takeaways.
Corporate - Community Engagement and Educational Outreach Community Engagement or Educational Outreach Programs in Western Canada that are known to the general SPE Membership in Calgary or were demonstrated through a presentation at an SPE technical meeting or conference in Calgary.
Corporate – Support of SPE Calgary Section A Calgary based corporation that has made an outstanding or sustained and ongoing financial (or in-kind contribution) to support to the Calgary Section over a number of years and actively encourages engagement of its staff to participate or volunteers company resources.