DSATS is the Drilling Systems Automation Technical Section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE). The purpose of DSATS is to accelerate the development and implementation of systems automation in the well drilling industry by supporting initiatives which communicate the technology, recommend best practices, standardize nomenclature and help define the value of drilling systems automation. Appropriate initiatives include workshops, forums, lectures, and technical and white papers, among others, and DSATS actively encourages participation of automation experts from outside the drilling industry.

Upcoming Events

Log in to see this information

Latest Discussions

Log in to see this information

This Months Feature

Implementation of Drilling Systems Automation

SPE’s Drilling Systems Automation Technical Section (DSATS) is tasked with supporting the growth and implementation of drilling automation, linking surface and downhole equipment with predictive models for better well construction.  We invite you to actively participate in a dual track workshop that will examine both the technical and business issues required to successfully deploy this new enabler for safer and more efficient drilling.

Quick Links



“IADC ART Future Technology Workshop on Drilling Rig Equipment Simulation”

IADC ART Future Technology Subcommittee Workshop

“Drilling Rig Equipment Simulation with Focus on Training, Testing & Operations”

Date: 23 October 2014

Time: 9:30 am – 1:00 pm

Venue: IADC

10370 Richmond Ave., Suite 760

SPE Drilling System Automation Technical Section Special Event - REGISTER TODAY!

SPE Drilling System Automation Technical Section Special Event held in conjunction with the 2014 Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE)
Sunday, 26 October from 1:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Amsterdam RAI Convention Center, Forum Lounge

SPE Announces International Award Winners for 2014

The SPE Board of Directors approved the 2014 International Award recipients at their recent meeting in Cartagena, Colombia. Seventeen international award committees recommended these winners to the board because of their outstanding and significant...